Marcienne & Herman Mattleman Award for Excellence in Public Education

This award is given in honor of both Marcienne Mattleman, tireless advocate for quality public education and literacy at the local and national levels, founder of four education-related non-profits and education reporter (KYW); and Herman Mattleman, attorney and engaged citizen who has chaired and served on many boards, among them the Philadelphia Board of Education as President, 1983-90. Both Mattlemans are recipients of The Philadelphia Award.


2017 Harold Jordan
2015 Donna Cooper
2014 Hon. James Roebuck

Lenora & Norman Berson Award for Good Governance and Electoral Integrity

This award is given in honor of the late Lenora Berson, former Board Chair  of ADA SEPA, Chair of the Center City Residents' Association, and distinguished political activist; and Norman Berson, former seven-term liberal Pennsylvania State Representative from the 187th District and leader of Philadelphia’s 8th Ward.


2017 Community Legal Services of Philadelphia
2015 Lynn A. Marks
2014 Gregory M. Harvey, Esq.

Rita Urwitz Award for Social and Economic Justice

This award is given in honor of the late Rita Urwitz, longtime activist for AFSCME District Council 47 and champion of children’s welfare and LGBT rights. A graduate of Bryn Mawr School of Social Work, Ms. Urwitz worked for DHS, founded the Attic - a refuge for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender youth - and was on the board of directors of the Mazzoni Center.


2017 Asian Americans United
2015 Ken Washington
2014 Thomas Paine Cronin